Hygyrchedd

Font Size cy

100% 150% 200%

background colour cy

cy Cyferbynnedd
Cau Ailosod

YR HEN COLEG, ABERYSTWYTH

Manylion y Safle



NPRN 23303

Cyfeirnod Map SN58SE

Cyfeirnod Grid SN5806581701

Awdurdod Lleol Ceredigion 

Hen Sir Ceredigion

Cymuned Aberystwyth

Math o Safle COLEG PRIFYSGOL, GWESTY

Dosbarth Cyffredinol ADDYSG, MASNACHOL

Cyfnod Ôl-Ganoloesol

Disgrifiad o´r Safle The picturesque Castle House (NPRN 96582), designed for Uvedale Price in 1794 by John Nash, formed the nucleus of the Castle House Hotel, which was eventually to become the home of the University College of Wales. The hotel, designed by J.P. Seddon in the Early English style, was begun in 1864 for Thomas Savin, to take advantage of the newly completed railway to Aberystwyth. The unfinished building was converted in various stages during the 1870s and 80s by J.P. Seddon, after being purchased by the new university. Seddon also entirely rebuilt the south wing after a serious fire in 1885. In 1894, a new central block in the Queen Anne style, designed by C.J. Ferguson, completely replaced the former Castle House.

RCAHMW, September 2009

Delweddau Digidol

Chofnodion Archifol

Safleoedd Cysylltiedig

Adnoddau Ar-lein