Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

YR HEN COLEG, ABERYSTWYTH

Site Details



NPRN 23303

Map Reference SN58SE

Grid Reference SN5806581701

Unitary (Local) Authority Ceredigion

Old County Cardiganshire

Community Aberystwyth

Type of Site HOTEL, UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Broad Class EDUCATION, COMMERCIAL

Period Post Medieval

Site Description The picturesque Castle House (NPRN 96582), designed for Uvedale Price in 1794 by John Nash, formed the nucleus of the Castle House Hotel, which was eventually to become the home of the University College of Wales. The hotel, designed by J.P. Seddon in the Early English style, was begun in 1864 for Thomas Savin, to take advantage of the newly completed railway to Aberystwyth. The unfinished building was converted in various stages during the 1870s and 80s by J.P. Seddon, after being purchased by the new university. Seddon also entirely rebuilt the south wing after a serious fire in 1885. In 1894, a new central block in the Queen Anne style, designed by C.J. Ferguson, completely replaced the former Castle House.

RCAHMW, September 2009

Digital Images

Archive Records

Associated Sites

Online Resources