Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

ST PETER'S CHURCH

Site Details

© Copyright and database right 2019. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey licence number 0100022206

NPRN 102923

Map Reference SM70NE

Grid Reference SM7948708236

Unitary (Local) Authority Pembrokeshire

Old County Pembrokeshire

Community Marloes and St Brides

Type of Site CHURCH

Broad Class RELIGIOUS RITUAL AND FUNERARY

Period Post Medieval, Medieval

Site Description The church has medieval origins but was heavily restored in 1875-77 to the designs of Charles Buckridge of Oxfordshire by J. L. Pearson at the expense of the Rev. Gilbert Harris. The church was visited in September 1856 by Stephen Glynne who describes its pre-restoration condition in ‘Notes on the Older Churches in the Four Welsh Dioceses’, Archaeologia Cambrensis, V, ii (1885), 214-15. The church is built of rubble stone with tooled limestone quoins and purple Caerbwdy-stone tracery and consists of a nave, chancel, north and south transepts, and a limestone double bellcote with segmental pointed openings and a ridged flat top on the western gable of the nave. It is roofed in slate with coped gables with finial crosses on eastern gables of the nave and chancel. The transepts both have squints to the chancel lit by small single-light windows and the south transept has a stone chimney with a pyramid cap in its north-west angle. Inside, the chancel is slightly deflected to the south and has a barrel vault. In the south wall of the chancel is a plain square piscina with a round bowl and a rude corbel which supported the rood loft. There is a similar corbel on the north side. The chancel arch is high and sharply pointed. There is a thirteenth-century font, square with chamfered corners, the shaft and base of which are modern. Under the north-west floor of the nave is a total immersion font which was installed in 1884.

(Sources: Inventory of the Ancient Monuments in Wales and Monmouthshire: Pembroke (RCAHMW: 1925), Vol. II, pp. 217-18; Cadw listed buildings database)
A.N. Coward, RCAHMW, 17.04.18

Digital Images

Archive Records