You have no advanced search rows. Add one by clicking the '+ Add Row' button

Castle House Hotel

Loading Map
Map ReferenceSN58SE
Grid ReferenceSN5806581701
Unitary (Local) AuthorityCeredigion
Old CountyCardiganshire
Type Of SiteHOTEL
PeriodPost Medieval
The picturesque Castle House (NPRN 96582), designed for Uvedale Price in 1794 by John Nash, formed the nucleus of the Castle House Hotel, which was eventually to become the home of the University College of Wales. The hotel, designed by J.P. Seddon in the Early English style, was begun in 1864 for Thomas Savin, to take advantage of the newly completed railway to Aberystwyth. The unfinished building was converted in various stages during the 1870s and 80s by J.P. Seddon, after being purchased by the new university. Seddon also entirely rebuilt the south wing after a serious fire in 1885. In 1894, a new central block in the Queen Anne style, designed by C.J. Ferguson, completely replaced the former Castle House.

RCAHMW, September 2009

application/mswordETW - European Travellers to Wales Project
application/pdfRCAHMW Exhibitions