You have no advanced search rows. Add one by clicking the '+ Add Row' button

St Mary's Church, Llanfair Talhaiarn

Loading Map
NPRN309578
Map ReferenceSH97SW
Grid ReferenceSH9270070140
Unitary (Local) AuthorityConwy
Old CountyDenbighshire
CommunityLlanfair Talhaiarn
Type Of SiteCHURCH
PeriodPost Medieval
Description
WALLPAINTINGS
Table of benefactions table of benefactions (1717), in oils on a wooden panel.
Source: RCAHMW Wallpaintings database. 2004.09.10/RCAHMW/SLE

2. Founded as cell by St Talhaern in C5th. First mentioned in 1274. Substantial restoration by J. Oldrid Scott in 1876 replaced much earliy work. Double naved parish church of local rubble stone with sandstone dressings. Slate roofs with C19th slab-coped and kneelered gable parapets, surmounted by gable crosses. South porch probably C17th origin - replaced in C20th.
Twin-naved interior with continuous nave and chancel plan. 9-bay arched-braced collar truss roofs to both chambers, with 2 tiers of small cusped wind braces. Simple fixed C19th pews, boarded and stone-flagged floor. 6 bay pointed-arched arcade with octangonal columns. Transitional style font with octangonal sandstone basin. Also early English style C13 font bowl, now unused with waterleaf carving to its chamfered corners. Plain octagonal pitch-pine pulpit with simple blind tracery. Baptismal tank, for adult immersion in NW corner, constructed in 1849. Simple pine choirstalls with poppyheaded pew-ends. Polished wooden altar rails with Gothic wrought iron scrolled supports. Fine figurative stained glass to window c.1880. Organ of 1880 by Peter Cronacher and Co. Huddersfield.
(K.A. Andrews 16/11/2004)