Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

ST MARY'S CHURCH, LLANFAIR TALHAIARN

Site Details

© Copyright and database right 2019. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey licence number 0100022206

NPRN 309578

Map Reference SH97SW

Grid Reference SH92707014

Unitary (Local) Authority Conwy

Old County Denbighshire

Community Llanfair Talhaiarn

Type of Site CHURCH

Broad Class RELIGIOUS RITUAL AND FUNERARY

Period Post Medieval

Site Description WALLPAINTINGS
Table of benefactions table of benefactions (1717), in oils on a wooden panel.
Source: RCAHMW Wallpaintings database. 2004.09.10/RCAHMW/SLE

2. Founded as cell by St Talhaern in C5th. First mentioned in 1274. Substantial restoration by J. Oldrid Scott in 1876 replaced much earliy work. Double naved parish church of local rubble stone with sandstone dressings. Slate roofs with C19th slab-coped and kneelered gable parapets, surmounted by gable crosses. South porch probably C17th origin - replaced in C20th.
Twin-naved interior with continuous nave and chancel plan. 9-bay arched-braced collar truss roofs to both chambers, with 2 tiers of small cusped wind braces. Simple fixed C19th pews, boarded and stone-flagged floor. 6 bay pointed-arched arcade with octangonal columns. Transitional style font with octangonal sandstone basin. Also early English style C13 font bowl, now unused with waterleaf carving to its chamfered corners. Plain octagonal pitch-pine pulpit with simple blind tracery. Baptismal tank, for adult immersion in NW corner, constructed in 1849. Simple pine choirstalls with poppyheaded pew-ends. Polished wooden altar rails with Gothic wrought iron scrolled supports. Fine figurative stained glass to window c.1880. Organ of 1880 by Peter Cronacher and Co. Huddersfield.
(K.A. Andrews 16/11/2004)

Digital Images

Archive Records