DescriptionBryn-ambor lead mine is reputed to have been an old mine in 1860 when reopened by the Brynambor Lead Mining Company. The outcrop of the lode is cut at the confluence of two streams and mineralisation might therefore have been noted at an early date. A series of limited liability companies attempted to work the mine until circa 1874 with a recorded production of only 10 tons of dressed lead ore.
The remains of the pumping and winding machinery are lying on site as abandoned in the mid 1870s. Virtually all the woodwork has gone and the winding drum housing has collapsed, leaving the drum frame in the stream. Some of the iron flat rods have been robbed, but a substantial section remains close to the engine shaft.
Reference:
Welsh Mines Society, 10/11 June 2000, Lampeter, fields notes by Peter Claughton / Dept. of History.
RCAHMW, 2014.