Hygyrchedd

Font Size cy

100% 150% 200%

background colour cy

cy Cyferbynnedd
Cau Ailosod

DEVIL'S BRIDGE

Manylion y Safle

© Copyright and database right 2019. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey licence number 0100022206

NPRN 23859

Cyfeirnod Map SN77NW

Cyfeirnod Grid SN7417177025

Awdurdod Lleol Ceredigion 

Hen Sir Ceredigion

Cymuned Pontarfynach

Math o Safle PONT

Dosbarth Cyffredinol CLUDIANT

Cyfnod Ôl-Ganoloesol, Canoloesol

Disgrifiad o´r Safle Three superimposed bridges associated with Satan cross the Mynach at the heart of the small resort of Devils Bridge, dedicated to the picturesque.

The present road bridge is a late twentieth century reconstruction of an iron or steel lattice girder bridge of 1901, retaining the original railings and so much of the original's character. Immediately below is a massive 18m stone rubble span carried on a segmental arch. This is the bridge built in 1753 whose original stone parapets were replaced by the present cast iron panels in 1814. Some panels have been displaced by the upper bridge span.

The 1753 bridge frames the comparatively diminutive lower bridge which, perched on the living rock above the river chasm, has a single obtusely pointed arch perhaps 6.0m wide that crosses some 30m above the gushing torrent. This stone rubble bridge is thought to be a medieval structure, perhaps sixteenth century, although it appears to have been much restored and amended when the 1753 bridge was built over it.

The three bridges demonstrate the improvements made to road transport. With each successive bridge the gradient of the road was evened out and the roadway increased in width.

Source: CADW Listed Buildings Database (9870)

John Wiles 18.09.07

Delweddau Digidol

Chofnodion Archifol

Safleoedd Cysylltiedig

Adnoddau Ar-lein